How is the NAATI CCL Test Marked?

CCL Test comprises of two dialogues;
each worth 45 marks. In order to pass the test, a candidate
requires at least 29 marks in each dialogue and an overall score of 63 out of 90.
The result for the CCL Test will be given as:

63 or higher
(marks out of 90)


between 58 and 62.5
(marks out of 90)


less than 58
(marks out of 90)

In situations where a candidate achieves 23 out of 45 in Dialogue 1, 41 out of 45 in Dialogue 2 and an Overall Score of 64 out of 90, the result given will be CLEAR FAIL as the candidate hasn’t achieved required score in Dialogue 1 (i.e. 29).

NAATI CCL Test Assessment

A candidate’s ability to convey meaning of the dialogues
in English and Language Other Than English (LOTE) is assessed in the NAATI CCL Test.
Two significant factors that contribute to CCL Assessment Test are :

Language Quality

'Language Quality' refers to a candidate's competency in both English and LOTE

Language Register

'Language Register' refers to the level of formality with which a candidate transfers the meaning

At least two examiners assess the NAATI CCL Test individually by using a Deductive Marking System. Here, the types of errors in a candidate’s performance are taken into account by the examiners. The marks are deducted based upon the impact of these errors on the actual meaning of a sentence or a dialogue.
Errors for which the examiners deduct a candidate’s score are:

Correctness of information


Misrepresentation of information


Removal of information


Addition of information

If two or three of these errors are detected per dialogue, the examiner declares the result as FAIL.
Opinions of both examiners are considered in determining whether the candidate has passed the NAATI CCL Test or not. In case, if one of the examiners disagree regarding the performance of the candidate, additional examiners get involved in finalizing the result.